Awardees and Honorees

ICFJ surprised George Stephanopoulos with an award honoring his commitment to helping international journalists presented by ABC News President David Westin.

The ICFJ Founders Award for Excellence in Journalism

The ICFJ Founders Award is a tribute to three visionaries who started the International Center for Journalists 27 years ago.

2009 Award Winner:
Seymour Hersh, The New Yorker

Knight International Journalism Award

The Knight International Journalism Award recognizes media professionals worldwide who have taken bold steps to keep citizens informed despite great obstacles.

2009 Award Winners:
Cao Junwu, China
Chouchou Namegabe, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Master of Ceremonies

George Stephanopoulos, ABC News

2009 Keynote Speakers:

David Rohde, The New York Times
(Ambassador Richard C Holbrooke)