Join 600 media luminaries to celebrate a single powerful idea: Quality journalism makes a difference in the lives of people everywhere.

2005 Awards Dinner

Wednesday, November 9, 2005
6:00 p.m.
7:00 p.m.
Business Attire

On November 9, 2005, the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ) held its annual Excellence in International Journalism Awards Dinner at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Washington, DC. This Dinner annually brings together distinguished leaders from the media industry to support ICFJ’s mission of training journalists around the world.

Floyd Abrams from the New York Times provided the keynote address and George Stephanopoulos, anchor of ABC News’ This Week, was the emcee. During the Dinner, we recognized the accomplishments of several journalists by presenting them with Knight International Press Fellowship and the Paul Klebnikov Awards for excellence in journalism.

Master of Ceremonies

George Stephanopoulos, ABC News

Keynote Address

Floyd Abrams, The New York Times

Knight International Press Fellowship Awardees:

Marcelo Beraba, Brazil
Bambang Harymurti, Indonesia
Mahjoub Mohamed Salih, Sudan

The Paul Klebnikov Courage in Journalism

Diana Kachalova, Russia