Join 600 media luminaries to celebrate a single powerful idea: Quality journalism makes a difference in the lives of people everywhere.

2007 Awards Dinner

  • George Stephanopoulos sits down for a conversation with fellow ABC News anchor Bob Woodruff, who gave this year's keynote address.

Tuesday, November 13, 2007
6:00 p.m.
7:00 p.m.
Business Attire

This year, the International Center for Journalists celebrated the impending Digital Age, by awarding Wael Abbas, an Egyptian blogger with the first ever Knight International Journalism Award. Burmese journalist, May Thingyan Hein, was also honored because of her extraordinary commitment to professional journalism. Tom Brokaw received the Founders Award for Excellence, presented by the 2006 recipient Bob Schieffer. Anton Kazarin received the Paul Klebnikov Prize for Excellence in Journalism. George Stephanopoulos served as the master of ceremonies.

Founders Award for Excellence in Journalism

Tom Brokaw, NBC Nightly News

Knight International Journalism Awardees

Wael Abbas, Egypt
May Thingyan Hein, Burma

Paul Klebnikov Prize for Excellence in Journalism

Anton Kazarin, Russia

Master of Ceremonies

George Stephanopoulos, ABC News

Keynote Address

Bob Woodruff, ABC News