Courageous Investigative Reporters Honored at International Journalism Gala

Nearly 600 journalists, media professionals and supporters gathered at the International Center for Journalists Awards Dinner in Washington to honor reporters who have risked their lives to tell ground-breaking stories with tremendous impact.

The prestigious Knight International Journalism Awards went to Roman Anin, a Russian investigative reporter who tracked down millions of dollars stolen from the country’s budget, and Umar Cheema, a Pakistani journalist who exposed government corruption despite being brutally tortured.

Watch Roman's tribute video, read his remarks or watch his acceptance speech.

Watch Umar's tribute video, read his remarks or watch his acceptance speech.

NBC's Engel: More Data Alone Won't Lead to Press Freedom

November 7, 2013 – Richard Engel, NBC News’ chief foreign correspondent, said the widespread digital revolution won’t replace the need for “educated, experienced” reporters. Read more

Watch the tribute video or watch his acceptance speech.

NYT's Kristof: Investing in Journalism Crucial to Good Governance

November 7, 2013 – New York Times columnist Nicholas D. Kristof said empowering overseas journalists is vital to building strong civil society, in his keynote address. Read more

Watch his keynote address.

U.S. Secretary of State Praises ICFJ Award Winners as “Truth-Tellers in a Noble Cause”

November 7, 2013 – In a special tribute video, Secretary of State John Kerry said that ICFJ's 2013 honorees "are exceptional journalists who exemplify that special brand of courage in reporting." Read more

Watch the video or read his remarks.

ICFJ would like to thank the CBS News team for producing the outstanding tribute videos of our award winners. Special credit goes to Anthony Mason, John Molloy, Jacqueline Barnathan and especially Megan Tennyson, who was instrumental in completing this project. We are grateful as well to Jeff Fager, David Rhodes, Kurt Davis, Chris Isham, Al Ortiz, Arielle Miller, Bob Green, Amy Juhls and Robert Swan.

We would also like to thank The Associated Press for donating additional clips for the honoree videos and NBC News for donating footage of Richard Engel.