• Jun 262003

    2003 Burns Awards--And the "Burnsie" GoesTo...

    Steven Zeitchik's Fondly recalling the bad old days and Steffi Kammerer's Die Columbia ist sicher gelandet (Columbia has landed safely) were awarded the 2003 Arthur F. Burns Award.

  • May 312002

    2002 Burns Awards -- Award-Winning Burns Stories Focus on U.S. Presidential Elections

    Two Americans and one German took home the 2002 Arthur F. Burns Awards on May 23. Each year, the awards are given to Burns alumni for articles published the previous year. State Secretary Dr. Klaus Scharioth, representing the German Foreign Ministry, presided over the awards ceremony.

    The $1,000 awards went to Tagesspiegel editor Markus Feldenkirchen (2002) and U.S. journalists Guy Raz (1999), London correspondent for National Public Radio (NPR), and James Hagengruber (2002), reporter for the Billings ( Mont.) Gazette.