Alberto Ibargüen

John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

Alberto Ibargüen is president and CEO of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation. As president, he is an ex-officio trustee of the foundation.

Knight Foundation supports transformational ideas that promote quality journalism, advance media innovation, engage communities and foster the arts. Under Ibargüen’s leadership, Knight has invested more than $150 million in new technologies and techniques, launching news and information experiments in hundreds of communities. Its media innovation portfolio seeks to improve public media, discover new platforms for investigative reporting, increase digital and media literacy, promote universal broadband access and support a free and open Web.

As the nation’s leading journalism funder, Knight funding has supported training for more than 100,000 journalists worldwide. The foundation also helps safeguard the rights of journalists worldwide and supports public information campaigns about the value of freedom of information and open government.

Ibargüen is the former publisher of The Miami Herald and El Nuevo Herald. During his tenure, The Miami Herald won three Pulitzer Prizes and El Nuevo Herald won Spain’s Ortega y Gasset Prize for excellence in journalism. For his work to protect journalists in Latin America, he received a Maria Moors Cabot citation from Columbia University. Wesleyan University, The George Washington University, Mercer University and Stephens College have awarded him honorary degrees.

Ibargüen serves as a member of the boards of PepsiCo, AMR Corp. (American Airlines), AOL and the Council on Foreign Relations. He is a board member and former chair of the World Wide Web Foundation, founded by Web inventor Sir Tim Berners-Lee to promote a free and universal Web. He is trustee emeritus of the Newseum in Washington, D.C., where he served as board chair.

He holds a bachelor’s degree in history from Wesleyan University and a law degree from the University of Pennsylvania Law School.

Follow him @ibarguen.