Chouchou Namegabe accepts the 2009 Knight International Journalism Award from Knight Foundation's Eric Newton.

Each year, the ICFJ Awards Dinner honors the achievements of colleagues whose high-impact stories have helped improve societies around the world. This unique event brings U.S. headliners together with overseas journalists working in difficult conditions, and demonstrates how a passionate commitment to excellent reporting makes a difference in the lives of people everywhere.

Knight International Journalism Award

The Knight International Journalism Award recognizes excellent reporting that makes a difference in the lives of people around the world. Recipients of the Knight International Journalism Award are reporters, editors, technologists, media managers or citizen journalists who, despite difficult circumstances, produce pioneering news reports or innovations that make a significant impact in their countries.

The Award, supported by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, reflects the mission of ICFJ’s Knight International Journalism Fellowships: to instill a culture of news innovation worldwide. The goal is to seed new ideas and services that deepen coverage, expand news delivery and engage citizens in the editorial process. The fellowship program is supported by Knight Foundation, with additional funding from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

2011 Recipients

Rocío Idalia Gallegos Rodríguez & Sandra Rodríguez Nieto, Mexico
Thet Sambath, Cambodia

ICFJ Founders Award for Excellence in Journalism

The ICFJ Founders Award is a tribute to three visionaries who started the International Center for Journalists 27 years ago: Tom Winship, editor of The Boston Globe from 1965 to 1985; Jim Ewing, publisher of The Keene Sentinel in New Hampshire; and George Krimsky, AP correspondent and editor for 38 years, now with the Republican-American in Waterbury, Conn. Winship, Ewing and Krimsky felt a strong need to support colleagues overseas, particularly in countries with little tradition of a free press. All three shared the belief that the news media's role is to expose, investigate, and articulate issues of concern to average citizens. And they wanted an organization run by journalists for journalists to help foster their ideals. Out of their beliefs, ICFJ was born. This award, given in their honor, is presented to a journalist with a long-time commitment to the highest standards of the profession.

2011 Recipient

Christiane Amanpour, ABC News