Meet the Michael Elliott Award Winners

The Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling, a collaboration between the International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), ONE, and the Elliott family, honors an up-and-coming journalist in Africa who strives to strengthen people's voices and improve their well-being.


Kiki Mordi

2020 Award Winner

Kiki Mordi

Kiki Mordi is an investigative journalist, documentary filmmaker, and advocate for gender equality. 

She worked as a radio presenter for six years before transitioning into investigative journalism. During her time on the radio, she served as the Head of Presenting of a local radio station dedicated to women for two years, hosting the critically acclaimed, Woman Agenda, which played host to some of the finest women in leadership. 

In her 2019 explosive work with BBC Africa Eye, she uncovers sexual harassment in West African Schools in the investigative film, "Sex For Grades". The documentary went on to get awards and nominations including a nomination for an International Emmy Award in the Current Affairs category.

She continues to make an impact as a founding member of the Feminist Coalition, a group of Nigerian women internationally recognized for championing equality.

Follow her at @Kikimordi.


Dorcas Wangira

2019 Award Winner 

Dorcas Wangira is a journalist passionate about telling science and human interest stories.

She is a Features reporter working with Citizen Television, Kenya’s leading TV network. She previously worked as a Special Projects reporter and news correspondent for KTN NEWS, Kenya’s only 24-hour news network.

Wangira believes in the power of the human spirit and amplifying the voices of those often left behind and at the fringes of society. She produces Your Story, a weekly segment that airs every Sunday on Citizen TV Prime Time News. Her work explores complex science and social issues in a simple way, putting a human face to every story. 

Her winning report, “The App and The Cut,” ran on KTN News in June 2018. In this 25-minute feature, Wangira traveled to communities where girls are forced to undergo the illegal procedure. Wangira tells their stories of helplessness alongside the tale of five high school girls who invented an app to help girls facing the surgery seek help and find rescue centers.

Follow Dorcas at @DeWangira


Abubakar Ibrahim

2018 Award Winner 

Abubakar Ibrahim, a Nigerian writer and journalist currently works as a news editor at the Daily Trust in Abuja, Nigeria. Ibrahim began his journalism career as an intern at Vanguard Newspaper in Jos from 2006 to 2007. In 2009, he began working at the Daily Trust newspaper as the editor of the arts and ideas pages. Ibrahim has also completed extensive reports in South Korea, Germany, Poland and Colombia.

In addition, Ibrahim has written two books. His novel, “Season of Crimson Blossoms” won the 2016 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature. His other book, “The Whispering Trees,” comprises short stories. It was shortlisted for the Caine Prize for African Writing and longlisted for the Etisalat Prize for Literature. In 2014, Ibrahim’s name made it to the Hay Festival’s Africa39 list.

Abubakar won the award for his story "All That Was Familiar". 

Follow Abubakar at @Moonchild509.


Mercy Juma

2017 Award Winner

Mercy Juma is a broadcast journalist at BBC Africa in Nairobi, Kenya. She is a passionate storyteller, who reports on vital health and science issues from maternal and child health, to sexual and reproductive health and the environment. Until recently, she was a senior health and science reporter at the Daily Nation newspaper and NTV, its sister station.

In 2015, Juma was among the four Dag Hammarskjold U.N. Fellows worldwide selected to cover the U.N. General Assembly in New York for three months, where she reported on the adoption of the Sustainable Development Goals.

Mercy won the award for her story "Teen Mums of Kwale".

Follow Mercy at @MercyJuma_