Join us at our Tribute to Journalists 2022, in-person or virtually, to honor the achievements of brave colleagues whose outstanding news reports and media innovations have made a huge impact. Many are intrepid reporters who often put their lives on the line to bring us the news. Today they face unprecedented challenges, and need our help—and recognition—more than ever. You can support our work empowering journalists by becoming a sponsor of D.C.’s premier international media event. For one inspiring evening, U.S. headliners will join those working in countries where free media are in grave danger, all showcasing the importance of quality news.


Register for the Virtual Event

 Purchase Tickets to the In-Person Event


November 10, 2022

6 PM EST | In-Person, Washington, D.C.

7:45 PM EST | Online


Wolf Blitzer

Master of Ceremonies

Wolf Blitzer

Anchor, CNN


Andrea Mitchell

ICFJ Founders Award for Excellence in Journalism

Andrea Mitchell

Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent, NBC News

Andrea Mitchell is NBC News' chief foreign correspondent and host of MSNBC's "Andrea Mitchell Reports," an hour of political news and interviews with top newsmakers airing every week day.

ICFJ Innovation in International Reporting Award

Christo Grozev and Bellingcat

Grozev: Bellingcat Executive Director

Bellingcat: Global investigative news outlet

Grozev leads Bellingcat, which uses unconventional data-gathering methods and citizen crowd-sourcing to unmask Russian disinformation and more.


ICFJ Knight International Journalism Award

Evgeniy Maloletka, Vasilisa Stepanenko, Mstyslav Chernov

Freelance Photojournalist, Freelance Video Producer, Visual Journalist, Ukraine

Maloletka, Stepanenko and Chernov are bravely reporting on the Russian war in Ukraine for the Associated Press.


ICFJ Knight International Journalism Award

Anisa Shaheed

Television Reporter, Afghanistan

Shaheed worked as a television reporter for TOLOnews, Afghanistan’s first 24/7 news network, until Kabul fell to the Taliban.


ICFJ Knight Trailblazer Award

Carlos Dada

Founder and Director, El Faro, El Salvador

Dada heads Salvadoran news site El Faro, the first digital-only media outlet in Latin America and a leading force for independent and high-quality journalism in the region.



Register for the Virtual Event

 Purchase Tickets to the In-Person Event





Jason H. Wright
Development Chair, ICFJ
Principal, Geer Mountain Holdings LLC



Pamela Howard
Vice Chair, ICFJ
Trustee, Scripps Howard Foundation



Lauretta J. Bruno
Director, ICFJ
President, Gramercy Partners LLC



Sponsoring the ICFJ Tribute to Journalists 2022 is a powerful way to engage with our global network and demonstrate that you stand with intrepid journalists. Become a sponsor here.

Event Partner


Ahmed Charai

World Herald Tribune, Inc.



Cocktail Reception Sponsors







The Ewing Family


Pamela Howard


Wendell and Mary Reilly




Lauretta Bruno


David Elliot Cohen and
Laureen Seeger


Michael and Anne B. Golden




Alex S. Jones


Jason Wright


Josef Sternberg Memorial Fund


Joyce Barnathan and Steven Strasser



David Callaway



Rik Kirkland


Marcy McGinnis


Sharon Moshavi and Eric Weiner